You’ve been through it all before. You’ve been arrested before. You’ve been to jail. You’ve hired a lawyer. You’ve been to court. Maybe you received probation. Maybe your First DWI charges were reduced or dismissed. Maybe you just got out of jail. Or you have a loved one that is still in jail. If you are overwhelmed, you need some perspective. You need a game plan. Fighting your second means the stakes are even more important. A conviction means you are on the doorstep of your Third DWI. And a third DWI in Texas is a Felony DWI.
Second DWI Doesn’t Make it Any Easier
You’ve been through the DWI Process, so you have a sense of how the justice system works. But you have more questions.
- How will a second DWI affect my probation?
- How long with my license get suspended?
- What about jail time?
- What about an interlock device?
- How much will it cost?
- What about the fines, fees, and surcharges?
Understand the Penalties of a Second DWI Texas Conviction
The Costs are higher. Your second DWI is considered a Class A Misdemeanor. This means that the penalty range is from 72 hours to 1 year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine. You can probably get probation for your second DWI. But you may receive up to 30 days in jail as a condition or your probation.
For your second DWI conviction, you will be required for put an interlock device on your vehicle. The interlock device will remain on your vehicle while you are fighting your case.
Driver’s License Suspension
You are looking at a driver’s license suspension of between 180 days and 2 years. The DWI surcharge increases to $1500 per year for 3 years. Just like the First Time DWI, the surcharge jumps to $2,000 for a breath or blood test of 0.16 or higher.
There are many ways to attack the charges against you. Call my office for a free and confidential case evaluation. 817-689-7002. My office is located at 108 Main St. Fort Worth, TX, 76102